Contact

You deserve investment.

Are you a startup looking to take your great business idea to the next level? A medium-sized business keen to hit the market with a sustainable product?

Do you need money – but worry that a financing round will take away your autonomy? Are you looking for investors – but don’t know how to find the ones right for you?

We can help. We can work with you to establish exactly where you stand strategically, what type of financing you need – and how much. And we can show you how to add the punch your storyline needs to make it persuasive – and secure the funding you need to make the world a better place.

A total of €175 million was raised by 24 startups from central Germany in financing rounds in the first half of 2021.

Numbers + words = superpower.

Financial expert meets communicator. That’s our duo of founders in a nutshell. We complement each other with our knowledge, skills and experience acquired from a wide range of startups and SMEs as well as entrepreneurship and related activities. Our shared mission is to help build up a powerful network of entrepreneurs in our adopted city of Leipzig.

Katja Käseberg has made a name for herself in the German venture capital scene as a CFO with a track record of successful financing in various startups. Ina von Spies is an experienced communicator with a keen eye for good storylines and a clear approach to delivering strategic support for entrepreneurs.

Ina von Spies is an experienced communicator with a keen eye for good storylines and a clear approach to delivering strategic support for entrepreneurs.

We boldly combine our strengths, knowledge and passion to help startups get off the ground and grow. And we also advise established firms on how to operate sustainably. In addition, we understand the requirements for investment as well as what various potential backers look for. That’s why we teamed up to found numbers&words. Integrated into a broad network, we’re dedicated to supporting the development of pioneering, independent businesses, chiefly in Leipzig and central German.

Katja Käseberg

As CFO for startups, I have successfully supported a dozen financing rounds. This experience as "numbers" is what I bring into the collaboration with our teams. That way sustainable innovation finds the right financing – and sustainable financing can flow into innovative companies. read more

Ina von Spies

Straightforward wordings, storylines inspiring enthusiasm into one’s own company as well as tailor-made leadership culture – this is what I can contribute to the development of our teams. As the "words" in numbers&words it is always my pleasure to gain and exchange new perspectives in conversations and workshops with our clients. read more

Over

50%

of germans consider businesses’ social and ecological activities before making a purchase.

Sustainable boost for businesses and businesspeople

numbers&words aims to strengthen sustainable entrepreneurship in Leipzig and central Germany. We want to use our skills, abilities and networks to help startups and medium-sized companies successfully implement sustainable business concepts – and to help financiers invest with a positive impact.

In the short term, we aim to assist startups by enhancing their business model, storyline and profile, and then helping them to obtain sound financing. In the medium term, we intend to support these firms’ successful development. And in the long term, we plan to set up a network contributing to the establishment of sustainable entrepreneurship in and around Leipzig.

76%

of companies see sustainability as an important issue

Our Customers and References

Ina von Spies

Positioning companies clearly in the market and raising their public profile has been part of my profession since 1997. As press spokesperson and senior vice president corporate communications, these are activities I’ve performed for a government ministry, a business development agency and medium-sized listed companies. Since 2013, I’ve been a freelance consultant aiding medium-sized firms in particular to present themselves clearly (both internally and externally) and also to develop a suitable leadership culture. In addition, I devise, plan and moderate events and workshops. My approach is exemplified by methods of facilitation.

Since 2015, I’ve been doing pitch training for startups, initially as a mentor for SpinLab in Leipzig. Since 2020, I’ve also been involved in promoting sustainability as a partner in Impact Hub Leipzig. This is how I first met my co-founder, Katja Käseberg – which led to the idea of combining our skills and abilities to benefit sustainable, independent startups as well as seasoned employers.

„In the past, jobs were about muscles, now they’re about brains, but in the future they’ll be about the heart.”

Minouche Shafık, Director, London School of Economics

Katja Käseberg

As a CFO for startups, I’ve already successfully supported around a dozen financing rounds. Having gained this experience as a co-founder, I’ve put it to excellent use as an interim CFO. The types of financing I’ve been involved in range from crowd funding to business angels and venture capital, and total several million euros. In addition, I’ve established a stable network in both finance and the startup scene.

When I worked as an administrative assistant, I learned a lot about public institutions’ working methods and operating environment. I gained additional insights during my degree in business studies and when working as a consultant. This background makes up the solid basis for my activities as a financial expert, colleague, executive and entrepreneur.

Over the years, I’ve acquired a broad range of skills in advising public and private sector companies as well as public authorities. My abilities include management accounting, corporate strategy and financial accounting as well as startup consulting, workshop management and supporting business succession.

Together with my co-founder, Ina von Spies, I plan to use these skills and experience to develop a sustainable, innovative business network in Leipzig and central Germany.

“The currency of success is not money. It’s minutes. What percentage of my life do I spend doing what I want, in the way I want?”

John Strelecky

Come and attend an initial meeting before deciding whether you want to proceed with us.

Kontakt

Du verdienst gutes Geld.

Ihr seid ein Startup, das seine gute Geschäftsidee auf den nächsten Level skalieren will? Mittelständische Entrepreneure, die mit einem nachhaltigen Produkt auf den Markt drängen?

Ihr braucht Geld, aber Finanzierungsrunde klingt danach, die Selbstbestimmtheit zu verlieren? Außerdem habt Ihr keine Ahnung, wie Ihr an die richtigen Investoren kommen sollt.

In dieser Situation können wir Euch unterstützen. Wir klären gemeinsam, wo genau Ihr strategisch gerade steht und welche Art und Höhe von Finanzierung Ihr braucht. Auch was Ihr tun könnt, um als Team mit Eurer Storyline zu überzeugen – und erfolgreich die Welt zu verbessern.

175 Millionen Euro sammelten 24 mitteldeutsche Startups insgesamt in Finanzierungsrunden im ersten Halbjahr 2021 ein.

Zahlen + Worte = Superkraft.

Finanzexpertin trifft Kommunikatorin – so lässt sich unser Gründerinnen-Tandem skizzieren. Wir bringen komplementäre Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten mit: aus Startups und Mittelstand, Entrepreneurship und Engagement. Unsere gemeinsame Mission: In unserer Wahlheimat Leipzig dazu beitragen, ein tragfähiges Netz von nachhaltigem Unternehmertum aufzubauen.

Katja Käseberg hat sich als Chief Financial Officer (CFO) mit einem track record erfolgreicher Finanzierungen in verschiedenen Startups in der deutschen Venture Capital-Szene einen Namen gemacht.

Ina von Spies bringt als erfahrene Kommunikatorin neben einem scharfen Blick für gute Storylines auch eine klare Haltung in der strategischen Begleitung von Unternehmerpersönlichkeiten mit.

Couragiert bündeln wir Kräfte, Wissen und Herzblut, um Startups den Start und das Wachstum zu erleichtern sowie gereifte Unternehmen beim nachhaltigen Wirtschaften zu unterstützen. Zudem verstehen wir die Voraussetzungen für Investitionen und die Anforderungen verschiedener Geldgeber*innen. Dafür haben wir gemeinsam numbers&words gegründet. Eingebunden in ein vielfältiges Netzwerk engagieren wir uns für die Entwicklung innovativer, unabhängiger Unternehmen insbesondere in Leipzig und der Region Mitteldeutschland.

Katja Käseberg

Als CFO für Startups habe ich bereits rund ein Dutzend Finanzierungsrunden erfolgreich begleitet. Diese Erfahrungen bringe ich als „numbers“ in die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Teams ein, damit nachhaltige Innovation die passende Finanzierung findet – und nachhaltige Finanzierung in innovative Unternehmen fließen kann. mehr

Ina von Spies

Klare Worte finden, mit guten Storylines Begeisterung für das eigene Unternehmen wecken, die passende Führungskultur entwickeln – dabei unterstütze ich als „words“ die Teams, die wir als numbers&words begleiten. In Gesprächen und Workshops neue Perspektiven zu gewinnen, ist immer wieder eine Freude. mehr

Für über

50%

der Deutschen ist soziales und ökologisches Handeln von Unternehmen ein Kaufkriterium.

Nachhaltige Schubkraft für Persönlichkeiten und Unternehmen.

Ziel von numbers&words ist es, das nachhaltige Unternehmertum in Leipzig und der Region Mitteldeutschland zu stärken. Dafür wollen wir mit unseren Fähigkeiten, Fertigkeiten und Netzwerken dazu beitragen, dass Startups und mittelständische Unternehmen nachhaltige Geschäftsideen erfolgreich umsetzen können. Und dass Geldgeber*innen mit positivem Impact investieren können.

Kurzfristig wollen wir Startups, deren Geschäftsmodell, Storyline und Auftritt wir mit ihnen verfeinern, zu einer soliden Finanzierung verhelfen. Mittelfristig wollen wir diese Unternehmen dabei begleiten, sich erfolgreich zu entwickeln. Langfristig wollen wir ein Netzwerk knüpfen, das in und um Leipzig dazu beiträgt, nachhaltiges Unternehmertum zu etablieren.

76%

der Unternehmen sehen Nachhaltigkeit als wichtiges Thema

Unsere Kunden und Referenzen

Ina von Spies

Unternehmen klar am Markt zu positionieren und ihr Profil in der Öffentlichkeit zu schärfen, gehört seit 1997 zu meiner Profession. Als Pressesprecherin und Senior Vice President Corporate Communications habe ich das für ein Ministerium, eine Wirtschaftsförderung sowie mittelständische börsennotierte Unternehmen geleistet. Seit 2013 unterstütze ich als freiberufliche Beraterin insbesondere mittelständische Unternehmen dabei, sich intern und extern klar darzustellen und auch die passende Führungskultur zu entwickeln. Daneben gestalte und moderiere ich Veranstaltungen und Workshops. Meine Haltung ist dabei von den Methoden der Facilitation geprägt.

Seit 2015 gebe ich Pitch Trainings für Startups, zunächst als Mentorin für das SpinLab in Leipzig. Seit 2020 bin ich als Gesellschafterin auch für das Impact Hub Leipzig engagiert, um Nachhaltigkeit voranzubringen. Dabei ist der Kontakt zu meiner Co-Gründerin Katja Käseberg entstanden – und die Idee, unsere Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten für nachhaltige und unabhängige Startups und Unternehmen zu bündeln.

„In the past, jobs were about muscles, now they’re about brains, but in the future they’ll be about the heart.”

Minouche Shafık, Director, London School of Economics

Katja Käseberg

Als CFO für Startups habe ich bereits rund ein Dutzend Finanzierungsrunden erfolgreich begleitet. Diese Erfahrungen habe ich sowohl als Mitgründerin gesammelt als auch als Interims-CFO einbringen können. Die Bandbreite der Finanzierungen reicht dabei vom Crowd Funding über Business Angels bis hin zum Venture Capital und summiert sich auf mehrere Millionen Euro. Zudem habe ich ein stabiles Netzwerk im Finanzwesen und in der Startup-Szene knüpfen können.

Als Verwaltungsfachangestellte habe ich viel über die Arbeitsweisen und Rahmenbedingungen öffentlicher Einrichtungen gelernt. Auf meinen Stationen im BWL-Studium und im Consulting habe ich weitere Blickwinkel hinzugewonnen. All dies ist das Fundament für mein Handeln als Finanzfachfrau, Kollegin, Führungskraft und Entrepreneurin.

Inzwischen verfüge ich über breit gefächerte Kompetenzen in der Beratung von öffentlichen und privaten Unternehmen sowie Behörden. Mein Handwerk umfasst Controlling, Unternehmensstrategie sowie Finanzbuchhaltung ebenso wie Gründungsberatung, Workshop-Leitung und Begleitung von Unternehmensnachfolgen.

All dies möchte ich zusammen mit meiner Co-Gründerin Ina von Spies dafür einbringen, ein nachhaltiges, innovatives Unternehmens-Netzwerk in Leipzig und Mitteldeutschland zu entwickeln.

„Erfolg bemisst sich nicht am Geld. Seine Währung sind vielmehr Minuten. Wie viel Prozent meines Lebens verbringe ich mit den Dingen, die ich tun möchte, und zwar auf die Weise, wie ich es gerne möchte?“

John Strelecky

Finden wir in einem ersten Gespräch heraus, ob wir miteinander arbeiten wollen.